Summertime Anthemz

18 05 2012

Sup everybody. Hope you’re off to a swell Friday! I sure am. Guess why? Yep, you guessed it. That time of year is upon us. When the shitty spring rains subside and a light, scented breeze gently wafts through the air. It’s a scent mainly made up of a refreshing mixture of blooming flowers, motor oil and female undercarriages. Ahh the smell of summer. Gets me every time. Well most of the time, anyways. I won’t lie to you. I’ve been known to long for the smell of winter right around mid July.

People always ask me, JD what’s your favorite part about summer? Years ago I used to respond with, “Waterparks and running through the sprinkler and Dairy Queen!!”. Last year I was convinced it’s the daily opportunity to tell your boss, “I have to leave early today because I have the Cancer. Just kidding, I’m going to get shit faced at the beach”. Well that strategy backfired slightly and by slightly I mean I lost my job. Pretty much right away too. Like I finished with the word ‘beach’ and my boss axed me on the spot. Tough break I guess. Well, now I’m fairly sure my favorite thing about summer is hopping in your ride, cranking one out down the windows and bumping those classic summertime anthems that have been collecting dust all winter.

At this point most of you are going to be thinking, JD, brocif, that’s the lamest answer I’ve ever heard. And you’d probably be right. But I honestly couldn’t think of a better way to introduce this post. So back off, bro. Let me listen to the Jonas Brothers in peace.

Just kidding, only girly men listen to the Jonas Brothers. Well girly men and girls. Young girls, though. Like I’ve never heard a 30 year old woman gush about how great the Jonas Brothers are. Not saying it couldn’t happen, just saying I’ve never heard it.

Whatever, here are some summer classics I’ve got on deck. Obviously in order of numbers of plays.

LFO – Summer Girls

Lil Rob – Summer Nights

Mr. Capone-E – Summertime Anthem

DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince – Summertime

Atmosphere – Summer Song

Atmosphere – Sunshine

Lil Flip – Sunshine

John Cena – Right Now

 

 

I wish my summers were as awesome as lil John Cena’s.

 

-JD

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

