Soundtrack To My Life

2 04 2012

Amidst a hungover Sunday afternoon yesterday I stumbled upon something that instantly made my body feel a little less shitty – Space Jam on TV. Straight up timeless flick. Something about MJ and Bugs together on the big screen just worked. And by worked I mean DOMINATED. I don’t think there is one thing I’d change about Space Jam. Great plot line, top notch acting, sports action out the ass, love story infused, and its like 86 minutes long so its not all drawn out and boring (ahem ahem..Funny People). But all that aside, there’s one thing that separates Space Jam from the rest of the bball movie competish. The soundtrack. Just packed to the brim with fire jams. And unlike some soundtracks, SJ features most of the tracks during the movie. My favorite scene has gotta be at the end when the spaceship drops MJ off at the ballpark with “I Believe I Can Fly” blasting in the background. Can you say goosebumps on my dick?

Alright, I’ll cool it on the Space Jam cream sesh. Essentially, it got me thinking about movie soundtracks. So many of them are shitty as hell. But there are quite a few decent ones. Not sure if they come close to Space Jam’s level, but who am I to criticize soundtracks?

Well luckily we’ve got some Simon Cowell-esque resident music critics at TODM headquarters. After a long weekend of analyzing, emphasis on the anal, we uncovered the best movie soundtracks ever made. Chickity-check it before you wreck it:

10. 2 Fast 2 Furious

With such standards as ‘Jump Off’ Joey Budden’s “Pump It Up” and Luda’s “Act A Fool” you can’t not put dis bitch in the top 10.

9. Tarzan

One thing you need to know about this soundtrack: Phil Fucking Collins. “You’ll Be In My Heart” always gets JD McGridd’s waterworks a’flowin.

8. The Wackness

Movie kinda sucked dong. Soundtrack ruled tits. Josh from Drake and Josh totally killed it though.

7. Toy Story

Randy Newman made this soundtrack is bitch, plain and simple. “You’ve Got A Friend In Me” made me realize even though I had no real friends, at least I had Randy Newman. His smooth vocals were all the friends I needed.

6. Dazed and Confused

It’s like the classic rock gods took a dump and this CD came out. Perfect summer cruisin playlist.

5. Shaft

You see this cat Shaft is a bad mother…SHUT YO MOUTH!

4. Friday

Combined Funk and Hip Hop like PB and mo’flippin Jelly.

3. Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgandy

Afternoon Delight put midday boning on the map for countless teens.

2.Hustle & Flow

Best Oscars acceptance speech this guys ever seen.

1. Space Jam

Whaddja expect at number one? Salt N’ Peppa. R. Kelly. Coolio. Seal. Quad City DJs. BARRY GODDAMN WHITE!!!

Honorable Mentions:

Slumdog Millionaire (Jai Ho was my shit!)

The Departed (Saw some kid sing ‘Comfortably Numb’ at karaoke the other night, shit blew my mind. Just kidding I fell asleep)

8 Mile (Can’t deny this bad boy should’ve probably definitely been on the list)

Above The Rim (‘Regulate’ by Warren G. can’t be overlooked)

Almost Famous (Plenty o good ones on this guy. Shout out to my boi Menyez who can’t get enough of this flick)

Superfly (Curtis Mayfield I see you, dogg)

Blues Brothers (Felt like I had to include it)

The Chronicles Of Riddick (Can you say Papa Roach?)

And boom goes the dynamite. A million Kudos bars to anyone who owns all of these. You my friend are a legend and a scholar. I can honestly say I owned four of the top ten at one point. That was before I dropped my broken CD case in a snowbank many years ago. Turns out the snow was made of sandpaper because all my CDs were scratched worse than Tyrone Biggum’s neck. You win some, you lose a bunch of sweet CDs, is how the old saying goes I believe.

-JD

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

