Tosh.O? More like Tosh.No

7 01 2013

Tosh.o

After last week’s sappy post on appreciating the little things in life I think we can all agree TODM feels a little wimpy, and a lotta soft. A post of that nature every once in a while is fine, but let’s be real, it’s not what we’re all about here at the mime. If it were, we’d be the Off Fruity Mime. Right? Because of fruit. Alright, so in an attempt to get back to our roots, I’m going to bitch about something that’s been increasingly bothering me over the last year or two.

Comedy Central’s viral video clip juggernaut, Tosh.O.

Tosh has been dominating the ratings at Comedy Central since spring of 2009, and for the first few seasons, I was hooked. Dude was hilarious. His web redemptions were comedy gold.  The boom goes the dynamite kid one with Gus Johnson was freaking hysterical. Since 09 Tosh has been en fuego. His popularity is at an all time high. He even did a college campus tour where I tuned in each week to see him do his show live from different college auditoriums.

As you can tell, I’ve been a fan of Tosh.O for some time now. But here’s the big problem. Shock factor has always been a big part of the shows schtick. He’s always showing crazy videos from the internet. That’s the whole premise of the show. Here’s a fat chick snapping a park swing. Haha, what a tubby. Classic. And scattered in there are always a few disgusting videos. Here’s a dude getting a compound fracture jumping off a skateboard. Oooh nasty! For the first few seasons, Tosh mixed in the nasty videos pretty sparingly. He didn’t rely on them. Well fast forward to last season. Dude had each episode chock full o nasty, sick, disgusting videos. And keep in mind I’ve got a pretty strong stomach. Remember that show Scarred from MTV? The one where the lead singer of Papa Roach narrated dudes breaking their faces off rollerblading and shit? Yeah I loved that show. Weird how it was cancelled almost instantly? Figured a show with slo-mos of horrific injuries would get ratings through the roof. Crazy world we live in.

Anyways, the point I’m getting at is Tosh is peppering in nasty ass videos more and more frequently during his show. The last few episodes I’ve tossed on I usually throw up my ramen noodles about three minutes in. It’s like he’s running low on funny internet videos and needs to make up for it with gross shit. Basically, it quickly made the show unwatchable for me. Thanks, but I think I’ll sacrifice a few Tuesday evening laughs so that I don’t projectile my lunch all over my neighbor’s porch.

To make things even worse, it seems like Daniel Tosh’s loveable self-obsessed uber douche style of comedy is only getting more intense. Maybe it’s just everyone in America getting sick of it over time, but it just seems like the guy needs to dial it back a bit. We get it dude. You’re a smart ass jagoff. That’s your thing. How about maybe ease up on the videos of dudes shooting their scrotum off and go back to the funny stuff. And no, I’m not going to give you guys a link to that video. But it was featured on Tosh.O. Here’s a better link instead.

Or how about that video of the dude pulling some random shit out of his nose for like an hour?

Dude c’mon. I was planning on going to Applebees in like 20 minutes.

Basically what I’m driving at is Tosh.O is on the downswing. I know it, you know it, your cat even knows it. Guy had a nice little four year run and his ship is slowly sailing away. What sucks for him is his little call out all the shows on Comedy Central that have been cancelled right before commercial break routine. Ha! The Showbiz Show With David Spade! I remember that one. Well jokes about to be on you Toshy. I give it two more seasons, tops.

And know that I’d be less likely to rip on Tosh if he hadn’t totally ruined things with all these nasty videos. Like ask me two years ago and I’d basically write you a long list of reasons why I’d go gay for Daniel Tosh. Well times they have-a changed, folks. I’m sorry it had to end like this Daniel. By the way, for christsake go by Dan or Danny or something. This full name thing is real annoying too.

Alright, that’s about all I got. If you still watch Tosh.O, good for you. Just don’t be all bummed out when your Chicken Cordon Bleu is on the rug in front of your TV next time you tune in.

 

- JD


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

